Maui Polo Facts:

We play Arena & outdoor Polo!

The first Polo game in Maui was played in 1888

Manduke B. Memorial
Kahuku R. Players
Polo Field Dedication
2008 Schedule
Polo Terms
Fields Location
Maui Polo Club
Polo Archives
Guest Book
Rocking K Arena

2001 Oskie Rice Memorial

Oskie Rice Memorial Cup 2001

Sunday, May 20, 2001. Haleakala Ranch Arena, Pukalani, Maui

First, The Maui Polo Club would like to say a BIG Mahalo to the Rice and Peterson families for sponsoring the day, thank you for the great trophies, leis and great BBQ.!

The day started with a 5 chukker "B" flight tournament game. Maui Mountain Cruisers won the first game.

The crowd was ready and eager to see the rematch of last week's game, the teams for the "A" Flight of the Oskie Rice cup:

Haleakala Ranch

  • Emiliano Achaval
  • Ka'aina De Coite
  • Jesse Neuwirth

Kaonoulu Ranch

  • Bob Nooney
  • Scott Mackay
  • Joey Brittain

Kaonoulu came out strong in the first chukker. They quickly made 4 goals. Haleakala regrouped and then came back more organized in the last 3 chukkers playing well after some adjustments that held back Brittain's offensive charges to only two more goals for the rest of the game.
At the end of the last chukker, Kaonoulu had the victory , the final score: 6 to 4.

The Kaonoulu squad will have their names inscribed in the beautiful perpetual "Champagne Cup".

The "Boxed K" Most valuable player perpetual award was given to Emiliano Achaval.

Next week we have the Island Biker Cup, come and join us for a great day of polo!